

# Bylaws of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Radiation Safety Committee

#### Article I - Committee Name

The name of this Committee shall be the "Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Radiation Safety Committee".

### **Article II - Committee Charge**

The charge of this Committee shall be to:

- 1. Establish policies and procedures in accordance with current regulations established by the Texas Department of State Health Services, Radiation Control Program (TDSHS-RCP), as well as provide administrative advice regarding radiation safety.
- 2. Approve or deny all applications, amendments, and sublicense renewals relating to the use of radioactive material. TDSHS

RCP and institute changes in policy and procedure as needed.

- 5. Review all TDSHS-RCP radioac(S009 Tw (a)19.7 (n)- .019 Tw(a)19.7a recommendations to the appropriate operation actions needed and serve as an avenue of appropriate operation.
  - 7. Supervise the institutional educational progr

# Bylaws of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Radiation Safety Committee

- a. A minimum of six faculty members active or knowledgeable in the use of radioactive material;
- b. A minimum of one faculty member active or knowledgeable in the use of radioactive material at each Regional Site where radioactive material use is approved;
- c. A representative of executive management of the institution;
- d. The Director of Safety Services (ex-officio);
- e. The Radiation Safety Officer (ex-officio);
- f. The Regional Campus Radiation Safety Supervisor(s) (ex-officio).
- 2. The President or designee shall appoint the members of the Committee on an annual basis.
- 3. The Radiation Safety Officer shall serve as Executive Secretary to the Committee.
- 4. Each member's annual term shall coincide with the institution's Fiscal year.
- 5. Reappointments on an annual basis are permissible for the sake of continuity of Committee operations.

### **Article IV - Officers**

- 1. The officers of the Committee shall be a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, and Executive Secretary. These officers shall perform the duties prescribed by these bylaws and by the parliamentary authority adopted by the Committee.
- 2. The President or designee shall appoint the Chairperson of the Committee annually, based on the recommendation of the Committee membership. Reappointments on an annual basis are permissible for the sake of continuity of Committee operations.

3.

# Bylaws of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Radiation Safety Committee

- 3. Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson or upon the request of any members of the Committee. The purpose of the meeting shall be stated in the call. Except in cases of emergency, at least three days' notice shall be given.
- 4. The Committee shall have a quorum that consists of a majority of the members of the Committee, which shall include the RSO, the representative of executive management (or designee), and the Chairperson (or designee).

#### **Article VI - Sub-Committees and Other Committees**

Other committees or sub-committees, standing or special, shall be appointed by the Chairperson as the Committee shall from time to time deem necessary to carry on the work of the Committee. The Chairperson shall be an ex-officio member of all sub-committees or other committees.

### Article VII - Review of Bylaws

These bylaws shall be reviewed at the regular meeting of the Committee that falls on the second Monday of February of every even-numbered year, or as deemed necessary and appropriate by the Committee or RSO.

### Article IX - Amendment of Bylaws

These bylaws may be amended at any regular meeting of the Committee by a two-thirds vote, provided that the amendment has been submitted in writing at the previous regular meeting. Any substantive amendments or changes shall be submitted to the Texas Department of State Health Services, Radiation Control Program (TDSHS-RCP) for approval prior to incorporation.